20 clubs will play in VTB United League championship in seasone-2012/13


Today in Moscow at the VTB United League Council meeting a decision on the format of the competition next season and collaboration with Euroleague was made.

In seasone-2012/13 20 clubs will play in the championship of the League. In the regular season they will play in two groups, after that the top 16 teams (8 from each group) will compete in the playoffs: series of 1/8 finals will be held till two wins and 1/4 finals, 1/2finals, a series for the 3rd place and finals - till three wins.

The exact entry list of the tournament main draw and qualifying championship, where it is planned to play one or two tickets, will be known in July, when the next Council of the League will be held. However, the League President Sergey Ivanov noted at the press conference that in the next season the Champion of Russia will be determined within the framework of the League – the Russian clubs should decide whether it will be determined by the results of tournament games or after further playoffs matches.

In addition, during the Council of the League, its participants welcomed the proposal of Euroleague, which means that VTB United League will join the European Cup competition and will receive the right to play for the ticket to Euroleague qualification. The format to be approved in early July at the General Assembly of the Euroleague.

- The next season of the League will be even more interesting – said the League President Sergey Ivanov. - The fact that the winner of the championship will be determined in full playoffs games and The Euroleague’s official recognition will certainly favour contribute to it. We are waiting for more qualitative, interesting basketball with the participation of the leading clubs from Eastern Europe!